, delayed by 20 minutes

Steven F. Leer

Steven F. Leer

Mr. Leer is lead director of Norfolk Southern Corporation, a publicly traded North American rail transportation provider and a director of Parsons Corporation, a publicly traded engineering, construction, technical, and management services firm. Mr. Leer served as a director and the non-executive Chairman of the Board of USG Corporation ("USG"), a publicly traded manufacturer and distributor of high performance building systems, from November 2016 to April 2019; lead director of USG from January 2012 to November 2016; and as a director of USG from June 2005 to January 2012, during which time he was a member and Chair of USG's Governance Committee and a member of its Compensation and Organization Committee. Mr. Leer served as Chairman of Arch Coal, Inc. ("Arch Coal"), a publicly traded coal producing company, from April 2006 to April 2014, and served as a director of Arch Coal and its predecessor company from 1992 until April 2014. During his tenure with Arch Coal and its predecessor company, he also served as Chief Executive Officer from July 1992 to April 2012 and President from July 1992 to April 2006.

Mr. Leer served on the boards of the Center for Energy and Economic Development, the National Coal Council, the National Mining Association, in each case Chairman, and was on the board of the Mineral Information Institute. Mr. Leer is a former member of the Board of Trustees of Washington University in St. Louis and he is a former director of the Business Roundtable and the National Association of Manufacturers. In addition, he is a former delegate to the Coal Industry Advisory Board of the International Energy Agency in Paris. Mr. Leer holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of the Pacific and a Masters in Business Administration from Washington University's Olin School of Business. Mr. Leer was awarded an honorary doctorate by University of the Pacific in May 1993.

Mr. Leer has been a member of the Cenovus Board since April 2015.

Committee memberships

  • Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee (Chair)
  • Human Resources and Compensation Committee